Administration Advisory, SSP & Portfolio Attendance & Nurse Attending Hillside STEAM Academy 2020-21 Bell Schedule Counselor’s Corner CTE Pathways Dress Code School Accountability Report Card Success Academy SVUSD Parent Rights Yearbook
Teacher Webpages 6th Grade English Department Math Department Physical Education Department Science Department Social Studies Department Technical Arts Visual and Performing Arts Links for Teachers
Community Resources PTSA Support Hillside
Promotion Information Google Calendar
Common Core Standards Testing and Accountability M.O.H. Hawks
Accelerated Reader 8th Grade Interdisciplinary Digital Portfolio (IDP) Counselor's Corner Library Clubs Spirit Days Teen Assist WOW weeks
Principal's Message

Testing and Accountability

NEW Smarter Balanced Testing

The State of California along with many other states have been woring together to create new assessments that will work in sync with the new Common Core State Standards.  California has joined the Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium   

By 2014, the Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium will develop a fair and reliable system of next-generation assessments for English language arts/literacy and mathematics for grades 3-8 and 11 aligned to Common Core State Standards. These assessments will be administered online, allowing for timely results that will provide information to teachers to help differentiate instruction. The assessment system will include:

  • A computer adaptive summative assessment administered during the last 12 weeks of the school year. This assessment can be used to describe student achievement and growth of student learning as part of program evaluation and school, district, and state accountability systems.
  • Optional computer adaptive interim assessments administered at locally determined intervals. These assessments provide information about student progress throughout the year.
  • Formative tools and resources that help teachers differentiate instruction and meet the unique needs of each student.
  • An online tailored reporting system that provides access information about student progress toward college and career readiness.

To learn more, download a one-page overview of the Consortium. 

Information provided by the Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium

CELDT Testing

Students in kindergarten through grade twelve whose home language is not English are required by law to take an English skills test. In California, the test is called the CELDT.

This test helps schools identify students who need to improve their skills in listening, speaking, reading, and writing in English. Schools also give the test each year to students who are still learning English. 

The CELDT was developed to:

  • Identify students with limited English proficiency.
  • Determine the level of English language proficiency of those students.
  •  Assess the progress of limited English-proficient students in acquiring the skills of listening, speaking, reading, and writing in English.

Content and Format

The CELDT assesses the four domains of listening, speaking, reading, and writing in English and is aligned to the English-language development (ELD) standards adopted by the State Board of Education (SBE). In California, EC Section 60810 has been amended to authorize early literacy assessment of ELs in kindergarten and grade one (K-1) commencing with the 2009–10 school year. The early literacy assessment must be administered for three years or until July 1, 2012. A report on the results of the administration of the early literacy assessment and the administrative process is due to the Legislature no later than January 1, 2013. The early literacy assessment was designed to be age and developmentally appropriate, and to the greatest extent possible, to minimize the testing burden on these young students.  

Information provided by and


California High School Exit Examination (CAHSEE)

In California, all high school students must pass a test to earn a high school diploma. The test is called the CAHSEE. Some students with disabilities do not have to pass this test.

California created the test to improve student achievement in high schools. The test helps to ensure that students graduate from high school with grade level skills in reading, writing, and math.

Students first take this test in grade ten. If they do not pass the test in grade ten, they have more chances to take the test. In grade eleven, they can take the test two times. In grade twelve, they have up to five times to take the test.

Information provided by